While using Snapchat, you may have spotted the ‘added by mention’ notification under someone’s name — but what does it mean? Here’s everything you need to know. Snapchat is known for its continuously evolving and often cryptic features. From Snapstreaks to Bitmojis, the platform aims to create a unique language of communication among its millions of users. Among these unique attributes, one that often confuses Snapchatters is the Add By Mention feature, which sees a notification text displayed under other people’s profiles.Article continues after ad On most social media platforms, users primarily add friends by searching for their username or importing contacts from their device. Snapchat offers this conventional method, but it also extends beyond this scope, providing other options for users to add and be added by others. Unsplash: Alexander Shatov What does ‘added by mention’ mean on Snapchat? On Snapchat, ‘added by mention’ indicates that someone has added you as a friend through another user’s snap, story, or message, where your username was mentioned. When this happens, Snapchat informs you that someone has added your profile in this manner, as the ‘added by mention’ notification gets displayed to you.Article continues after ad If a user you don’t recognize
Read More











