Users reported receiving a strange message that appears to be from Facebook threatening to disable their accounts if they don’t “verify” personal information. CHARLOTTE, N.C. — An alarming new message going around Facebook is threatening to disable user accounts if they don’t hand over personal information to “verify” their account. The message tells users they posted content on their page that misleads users and that their accounts will be disabled if they don’t confirm their account details, including personal information, within 24 hours. People who have received this message contacted WCNC Charlotte’s Verify team to find out of it’s real or a potential scam. This latest message pops up in your inbox claiming that you posed something using someone else’s fake name or shared misleading content. THE ANSWER No, this is not a real post, and, in fact, it’s a scam Facebook states if you get suspicious message claiming to be from Facebook, don’t click on the links OUR SOURCES Tom Bartholomy, President of the Better Business Bureau in CharlotteFacebook WHAT WE FOUND “This is not how they would alert you that you made a foul to their security calls,” Bartholomy said. Bartholomy said this is just one of the latest
Read More











