The only way to deactivate Messenger is to first deactivate your Facebook account. If you don’t want to go that far, you can disable your active status, or just delete the app. Once you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging back into Messenger or Facebook. Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories. Loading Something is loading. Getting too many Facebook messages is fun for some people, but a nuisance for others. If you’re in the latter category, you might be wondering if there’s a way to deactivate Messenger.Unfortunately, the only way to deactivate Messenger is to first deactivate your entire Facebook account. But there are a few alternatives you can take advantage of too, like disabling Messenger instead.Here’s how to do them all. How to deactivate Messenger by deactivating FacebookAlthough they’re separate apps now, Messenger is still heavily connected to Facebook. They use the same account, and settings you change in one app often carry over to the other app. This is why deactivating Facebook also gives you the option to deactivate Messenger.To deactivate on your iPhone or Android.1. Open the Facebook app and tap the three stacked lines in the bottom-right (iPhone) or top-right (Android).2.…
Read More












